skip navigation

Teams From 4 States and Sweden Set To Compete This Weekend

By News Reports, 11/06/08, 8:33AM CST





NEW HOPE, Minn. – An 8-team field with an international flavor will assemble at New Hope Ice Arena the weekend of Nov. 7-9 for the 7th annual NIKE/BAUER National Invitational Tournament.


Two of the teams – Minnesota White and Minnesota Red – are made up of players who were selected after competing in this fall’s Upper Midwest High School Elite League. Also competing are all-star teams from Wisconsin and Michigan, along with a team from Shattuck-St. Mary’s Academy in Faribault, Minn. California will be represented by two teams – the LA Stars and the San Jose Jr. Sharks – while the Malmo Redhawks from Malmo, Sweden complete the field.


The NIKE/BAUER NIT is one of the premier hockey tournaments in the country for high school-age players. The tournament begins on Friday, Nov. 7, with these quarterfinal games:


5:15 p.m.Minnesota Red vs. LA Selects (North Rink)

5:45 p.m.Minnesota White vs. Team Wisconsin (South Rink)

7:45 p.m.Malmo Redhawks vs. San Jose Jr. Sharks (North Rink)

8:15 p.m. – Shattuck-St. Mary’s vs. Team Michigan (South Rink)


Semifinals will be at 1:00 and 3:30 p.m. on Saturday Nov. 9, and the championship game is at 1:30 p.m. on Sunday, Nov. 9. Teams that lose in the quarterfinals will play a consolation bracket on Saturday and Sunday as well.


“This is a very strong field with some of the best young hockey players in America,” said John Russo, Commissioner of the Upper Midwest High School Elite League. “It’s a remarkable opportunity for these young men to compete against other elite players, and also showcase their skills in front of coaches and scouts.”


The NIKE/BAUER NIT, which draws nearly 100 college coaches and professional scouts, is a showcase for future college and NHL talent. Participants in recent years include such NHL players as Sidney Crosby (2003), Zach Parise (2003), Matt Niskanen (2005), Blake Wheeler (2004) and Matt Carle (2003).


This year’s field includes more than a dozen players who have either accepted or been offered Division I scholarships, including future University of Minnesota Gophers Nick Bjugstad, Christian Isackson, Nick Leddy and Nate Schmidt. Other schools with committed players involved in the tournament include the University of Minnesota-Duluth, the University of North Dakota, St. Cloud State University, Harvard University, Minnesota State-Mankato, the University of Wisconsin and others.


“The NIT is a great opportunity to watch the college and NHL stars of tomorrow play now,” Russo said. “Anyone who is a fan of Minnesota high school hockey should enjoy watching the very best players in Minnesota compete against elite players from around the country, and the world.”


For more information about the NIKE/BAUER NIT, including a tournament bracket and game times, please visit www.hselitehockey.com.