skip navigation

Mr. Hockey finalists announced, Gothberg top goalie

By staff reports, 02/11/10, 11:56AM CST


Two of 10 players on final list are from Minnetonka

The 10 finalists for the annual Mr. Hockey Award, given to the outstanding senior high school hockey player in Minnesota, were announced on Thursday, Feb. 11.

The winner is selected by a panel of NHL scouts, Division I college coaches and selected media members from around the state.

The award will be presented at the Mr. Hockey Awards banquet, which begins at noon on March 14 at the RiverCentre in St. Paul.

Also announced on Thursday was the winner of the annual Frank Brimsek Award, given to the state's top senior goaltender.

2010 Mr. Hockey Finalists

Mark Alt Cretin-Derham Hall 10/18/1991 6'3" 199 D Minnesota
Joey Benik St. Francis 1/26/1992 5'9" 151 F St. Cloud State
Nick Bjugstad Blaine 7/17/1992 6'4" 180 F Minnesota
Cal Decowski Andover 2/4/1992 5'7" 160 F UM-Duluth
Max Gardiner Minnetonka 5/7/1992 6'2" 205 F Minnesota
Caleb Herbert Bloomington Jefferson 10/12/1991 5'10" 180 F UM-Duluth
Justin Holl Minnetonka 1/30/1992 6'2" 170 D Minnesota
Christian Isackson St. Thomas Academy 1/20/1992 6'0" 174 F Minnesota
Adam Krause Hermantown 9/12/1991 6'1" 175 F UM-Duluth
Brock Nelson Warroad 10/15/1991 6'2" 205 F North Dakota

2010 Frank Brimsek Award Winner (state's top goaltender)

Zane Gothberg, Thief River Falls, North Dakota recruit

Mr. Hockey winners

Year Name School
2011 Kyle Rau Eden Prairie
2010 Nick Bjugstad Blaine
2009 Nick Leddy Eden Prairie
2008 Aaron Ness Roseau
2007 Ryan McDonagh Cretin-Derham Hall
2006 David Fischer Apple Valley
2005 Brian Lee Moorhead
2004 Tom Gorowsky Centennial
2003 Nate Dey North St. Paul
2002 Gino Guyer Greenway
2001 Marty Sertich Roseville
2000 Paul Martin Elk River
1999 Jeff Taffe Hastings
1998 Johnny Pohl Red Winig
1997 Aaron Miskovich Grand Rapids
1996 Dave Spehar Duluth East
1995 Erik Rasmussen St. Louis Park
1994 Mike Crowley Bloomington Jefferson
1993 Nick Checco Bloomington Jefferson
1992 Brian Bonin White Bear Lake
1991 Darby Hendrickson Richfield
1990 Joe Dziedzic Minneapolis Edison
1989 Trent Klatt Osseo
1988 Larry Olimb Warroad
1987 Kris Miller Greenway
1986 George Pelawa Bemidji
1985 Tom Chorske Minneapolis Southwest