skip navigation

Elite League rosters announced

By staff reports, 07/23/10, 10:36AM CDT


Defending state Class AA champion Edina lands seven players in league

Defending state Class AA champion Edina landed seven players -- the most of of any Minnesota high school team -- on Upper Midwest High School Elite League rosters for the 2010 season.

Four of the Hornets players -- goaltender Connor Girard, defenseman Max Everson and forwards Michael Sit and Steve Fogarty -- will play for Team Southwest.

Eden Prairie and Benilde-St. Margaret's each had six players named to Elite League rosters, while Hill-Murray, Duluth East and St. Thomas Academy had five.

The league, which consists mostly of juniors and seniors, will include nine sophomores this season. Four of those players (Hill-Murray's Zach LaValle, Edina's Parker Reno, Apple Valley's Hudson Fasching and Minnetonka's Max Coatta) played in the state Class AA tournament last season as freshmen.

The High School Elite Hockey Development Program and the Upper Midwest High School Hockey Elite League operates from September through mid-November and is intended primarily as a high-level supplement to the high school season.  The league features five teams from Minnesota, one North Dakota/Minnesota combo team and Wisconsin's top prep team. The top team from Shattuck-St. Mary's and other top Midget AAA teams also participate in some of the league's action.

Most Popular