skip navigation

Leddy, Bjugstad, Nelson on U.S. junior team roster

By staff reports, 12/07/10, 10:59AM CST


Five former state high school standouts among 29 players on preliminary roster

Five former Minnesota high school hockey players, including the last two Mr. Hockey award winners, have been invited to the U.S. National Junior team’s pre-tournament camp beginning Dec. 17.

Defensemen Justin Falk (South St. Paul), Derek Forbort (Duluth East) and Nick Leddy (Eden Prairie) will be joined by forwards Nick Bjugstad (Blaine) and Brock Nelson (Warroad) at the training camp.

There were 29 players selected to participate in the camp, and the roster will be trimmed to 22 for the for the World Junior Championship Dec. 26-Jan. 5 in Buffalo, N.Y.

Leddy was named Minnesota’s Mr. Hockey in 2009 after leading Eden Prairie to its first state Class 2A title. Bjugstad was named Mr. Hockey in 2010 after leading Blaine to a state Class 2A appearance.

Nelson also played in the state tournament last season as a senior, leading Warroad to a third-place finish in Class 1A.

For the full USA Hockey story on the preliminary roster selections, click here.

Related Stories