skip navigation

Minnesota High School Hockey players lead all states on USA Hockey’s 2007 Under-17 Select Team

By Minnesota Hockey Coaches Association, 07/14/07, 8:49AM CDT


USA hockey just recently named its selections for its Under-17 Select team.

And it was more good news for Minnesota Hockey as the state saw seven of its high school players named to the United States Under-17 Select Team. The team will take part in the 2007 Under-17 Five Nations Tournament from August 20-24 in Strakonice, Tabor and Pribram, Czech Republic.
The seven skaters placed on the team are the most for any state in the country. Michigan and Massachusetts were the next closest – each of those states placed two skaters on the
Minnesota High School players named to the team are as follows:

  • Nick Leddy (Eden Prairie High School)
  • Nate Schmidt (St. Cloud Cathedral High School)
  • Josh Birkholz  (The Blake School)
  • Zach Budish (Edina High School)
  • Jared Maetche (St. Cloud Tech High School)
  • Nick Oliver (Roseau High School)
  • Ryan Walters (Saint Thomas Academy High School)

Birholz, Budish, Walters, and Oliver participated in the 2007 State High School Hockey Tournament. Oliver was a member of the state champions from Roseau High School.
Mike MacMillan (Executive Director of MHCA)
Buffalo Boys Varsity Coach
612-247-0507 – cell
Ken Pauly (Director of Promotions, MHCA)
Benilde-St. Margaret’s Boys Varsity Coach
612-250-5688 cell   763-529-9308 office