Minnetonka, making its first state tournament appearance in eight years, received the top seed in the  Class 2A state tournament on Saturday morning in a vote of the eight participating coaches.

The Skippers (24-2-2), ranked No. 1 in the state in the latest coaches’ poll, open with a Thursday quarterfinal matchup against Hill-Murray (13-11-4) at 6 p.m. at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

Edina (26-2-0) received the No. 2 seed, Duluth East (23-2-3 ) the No. 3 seed and St. Thomas Academy (25-2-1) the No. 4 seed. Like Minnetonka, each of those teams’ seed matched their state ranking.

Centennial (19-6-3) is the No. 5 seed. Like Hill-Murray, St. Michael-Albertville 23-5-0 and Lakeville North 16-10-2 are unseeded.

Lakeville North (16-10-2) plays No. 2 Edina (26-2-0) at 11 a.m., St. Michael-Albertville (23-5-0) plays No. 3 Duluth East (23-2-3) at 1 p.m. and No. 5 Centennial (19-6-3) plays No. 4 St. Thomas Academy (25-2-1) in Thursday's other quarterfinal matchups. 

Two-time defending state Class 1A champion Hermantown received the top seed in the state Class 1A tournament.

The Hawks (20-6-2) have appeared in the last eight state title games and are ranked No. 1 in Class 1A in the latest state coaches poll.

Hermantown opens state tournament play at 6 p.m. on Wednesday at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul against unseeded Monticello (19-7-2) in a rematch of last year's state title game.

No. 2-ranked Mahtomedi (21-6-1) received the No. 2 seed, No. 5-ranked Orono (20-7-1) the No. 3 seed, No. 7-ranked Alexandria (17-10-1) the No. 4 seed, and Thief River Falls (16-10-2) the No. 5 seed.

Monticello (19-7-2), Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato (16-11-1) and Mankato East (16-10-2) were unseeded.

Mankato East plays No. 2 Mahtomedi (21-6-1) at 11 a.m., Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato plays No. 3 Orono (20-7-1) at 1 p.m. and No. 5 Thief River Falls (16-10-2) plays No. 4 Alexandria (17-10-1) in Wednesday's other quarterfinals.

In both Class 1A and 2A, each head coach cast electronic votes on Saturday morning for the other seven qualifying teams. The highest and lowest votes for each team were thrown out and the five teams with the lowest overall scores were awarded seeds. The remaining three teams were placed in the quarterfinals by blind draw.

Class 2A seeds

No. 1 Minnetonka 24-2-2
No. 2 Edina 26-2-0
No. 3 Duluth East 23-2-3
No. 4 St. Thomas Acad. 25-2-1
No. 5 Centennial 19-6-3
St. Michael-Albertville 23-5-0
Lakeville North 16-10-2
Hill-Murray 13-11-4

Class 1A seeds

No. 1 Hermantown 20-6-2
No. 2 Mahtomedi 21-6-1
No. 3 Orono 20-7-1
No. 4 Alexandria 17-10-1
No. 5 Thief River Falls 16-10-2
Litchfield/D-C 16-11-1
Mankato East 16-10-2
Monticello 19-7-2