skip navigation

Meet the 2021 Star Tribune All-Metro team

By DAVID LA VAQUE, Star Tribune , 03/29/21, 7:15PM CDT


See who made the second and third teams as well.

The Star Tribune All-Metro first team, from left:  Joe Palodichuk, Hill Murray; Kyle Kukkonen , Maple Grove (Metro Player of the Year); Ben Dardis, Mahtomedi; Henry Nelson, Maple Grove; Jackson Hallum, St. Thomas Academy, and Carter Batchelder, Eden Prairie. Photo: Jerry Holt •Jerry.Holt@startribune.com

(Venue: Braemar Backyard Rink)

All-Metro first team

All-Metro second team

Cam Boche
Lakeville South, senior, forward

College: Undecided
Leads unbeaten Cougars with 24 goals, many scored in key situations. One of 10 Mr. Hockey Award finalists.

Luke Levandowski
Rosemount, senior, forward
College: Wisconsin

Mr. Hockey Award finalist known for his speed led the Irish to the Section 3 championship game with 22 goals.

Garrett Schifsky
Andover, senior, forward
College: Undecided

Tallied 28 goals, including a hat trick in the Section 7 title game, to put the Huskies back in the state tournament.

JD Metz
Mahtomedi, senior, defense
College: Undecided

Played the first six games at forward but moved back to defense and excelled. Posted nine goals, 17 assists.

Luke Mittelstadt
Eden Prairie, senior, defense
College: Minnesota

Contributes offense (nine goals, 21 assists) and controls games with his skating and savvy. Mr. Hockey Award finalist.

Aksel Reid
Blake, senior, goaltender
College plans: Undecided

Finalist for the Frank Brimsek Award, given to the state’s top senior goalie. Finished 8-7-1 with a 2.09 goals-against average, .927 saves percentage and three shutouts.

All-Metro third team

Cade Ahrenholz, Lakeville South, senior, forward
Jackson Blake, Eden Prairie, junior, forward
Hunter Newhouse, Minnetonka, senior, forward
Kade Nielsen, Burnsville, senior, forward
Carson Peters, Wayzata, senior, defense
Tristan Sarsland, Benilde-St. Margaret’s, junior, defense
Jack Wieneke, Maple Grove, senior, goaltender



How the team was chosen

The Star Tribune’s All-Metro teams and Metro Player of the Year were chosen based on nominations from metro-area coaches, conversations with a panel of coaches and staff observations.

Hockey Hub Headlines

Feed for https://www.startribune.com/sports/index.rss2