skip navigation

Star Tribune All-Metro

By David La Vaque, Star Tribune, 03/06/12, 10:20PM CST


There's plenty of talent to be found

From left, Anders Franke, Elk River; Jordan Gross, Maple Grove; Justin Kloos, Lakeville South; Eric Schurhamer, St. Thomas Academy; Will Merchant, Eagan; Grant Besse, Benilde-St. Margaret's. The All-Metro hockey first team. Carlos Gonzalez, Star Tribune

Grant Besse

Grant Besse

Benilde-St. Margaret's | Junior | Forward

Quintessential finisher holds the Red Knights' career mark with 107 goals in 82 games. Understands where to get the puck and uses a quick, accurate release to score goals in bunches. Tallied six hat tricks and 13 power-play goals. Committed to Wisconsin

Will Merchant

Will Merchant

Eagan | Senior | Forward
Dynamic player who can score in all situations. Second on his team with 24 goals and 50 points. Fluid skater who gets shots off as fast as anyone in the state. Accountable defensive player who led fellow Eagan forwards in blocked shots. Committed to Maine.


Anders Franke

Anders Franke

Elk River/Zimmerman | Senior | Goalie
Won all 16 of the Elks' games this season, stopping 92 percent of shots faced and allowing 2.16 goals per game. Model of consistency throughout his four-year career. Allowed two or fewer goals 14 times this season and posted five shutouts. Undecided on college.



Eric Schurhamer

St. Thomas Academy | Senior | Defenseman

Only defenseman among 10 Mr. Hockey finalists. Often the best player on the ice throughout the season's second half. Registered 11 multi-point games and helped the Cadets allow 16 fewer goals than last season. Committed to Maine.

Justin Kloos

Justin Kloos

Lakeville South | Senior | Forward

Selected as the Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year. Tallied a goal or assist in every game this season despite lots of attention from opponents. Enters the state tournament with 99 points. Compiled 105 goals and 133 assists in 76 career games. Committed to the Gophers. Metro coaches appreciate his speed and selfless play. Teammates and coaches laud his head for the game.



Jordan Gross

Jordan Gross

Maple Grove | Junior | Defenseman

Gifted offensive player with great rink vision. Gets the puck out of Crimson zone effectively and anticipates plays well. "He sees things that other guys just don't see," Maple Grove coach Gary Stefano said. Scored 17 goals. Committed to Notre Dame.



Second Team

Jake Guentzel | Hill-Murray | Junior
Quick, shifty player who quarterbacked the Pioneers power play and produced 50 assists.
Grant Opperman | Breck | Senior
Mr. Hockey finalist tied for first on his team in goals (31) and placed second in points (73).
Sam Rothstein | Minnetonka | Senior
Stood out among a deep group of Skippers forwards. Tenacious two-way player finished with 56 points.
Michael Brodzinski | Blaine | Junior
Gophers commit draws raves for his shot. Led Bengals with 16 goals, six on the power play.
Eli May | Eagan | Senior
Complete player who anchored the Wildcats defensive corps. Seven of his 15 goals came on the power play.
Chase Perry | Andover | Sophomore

Big (6-2), athletic goalie stopped 92 percent of more than 900 shots faced and carried Huskies to the section final. 

Third Team

• Max Coatta, Minnetonka, junior
• Jay Dickman, St. Paul Johnson, senior
• Connor Hurley, Edina, sophomore
• Dylan Steman, Maple Grove, senior
• Matt Halverson, Wayzata, senior
• Blake Heinrich, Hill-Murray, junior
• Joe Morris, New Prague, senior

Metro Player of the Year: Justin Kloos

Two weeks ago, the Lakeville South boys' hockey team readied for the playoffs with the same hopes and dreams as any other team.


The Star Tribune's All-Metro teams and Metro Player of the Year were chosen based on nominations from metro-area coaches, conversations with a panel of coaches and staff observations.

Past winners

The 29 previous winners of the Star Tribune's Boys' Hockey Metro Player of the Year award. 

1985 Tom Chorske Minneapolis Southwest
1986 Scott Bloom
Jim Carroll
1987 Jon Manthey Anoka
1988 Tom Pederson Bloomington Jefferson
1989 Trent Klatt Osseo
1990 Craig Johnson Hill-Murray
1991 Darby Hendrickson Richfield
1992 Brian Bonin White Bear Lake
1993 Nick Checco Bloomington Jefferson
1994 Mike Crowley Bloomington Jefferson
1995 Richie Anderson Elk River
1996 Shawn Pogreba St. Paul Johnson
1997 Dan Carlson Edina
1998 Johnny Pohl Red Wing
1999 Jeff Taffe
Dan Welch
2000 Paul Martin Elk River
2001 Marty Sertich Roseville
2002 Travis Morin Osseo
2003 Mike Lundin Apple Valley
2004 Tom Gorowsky Centennial
2005 R.J. Anderson Centennial
2006 Jay Barriball Holy Angels
2007 Michael Dorr Roseville
2008 Jake Gardiner Minnetonka
2009 Nick Leddy Eden Prairie
2010 Nick Bjugstad Blaine
2011 Kyle Rau Eden Prairie
2012 Justin Kloos Lakeville South

Related Stories