skip navigation

Justin Kloos wins Mr. Hockey

By MN Hockey Hub staff, 03/11/12, 12:21PM CDT


Lakeville South scoring machine named state's top senior skater

Mr. Hockey award winner Justin Kloos of Lakeville South scored a state-best 103 points this season and 238 for his career. Photo by Helen Nelson

Justin Kloos

Lakeville South’s Justin Kloos was named Mr. Hockey on Sunday, March 11, capping a terrific season in which he scored a state-best 103 points, the 10th highest total in state history.

Kloos, who has committed to play at the University of Minnesota, received the award given annually to the state's top senior skater in an awards ceremony held at the RiverCentre in St. Paul.

The honor came a day after Kloos, a 5-foot-9, 167-pound senior, closed his career by scoring the winning goal and notching an assist in the Cougars’ 2-1 victory over Moorhead in the state Class 2A third-place game at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

He also scored a goal and added an assist in the unseeded Lakeville South's stunning 3-2 triumph over No. 1 seeded and No. 1 ranked Duluth East in Thursday's quarterfinals.

Kloos scored at least one point in every game this season but one, the exception being Lakeville South's 10-1 loss to eventual state champion Benilde-St. Margaret's in Friday's semifinals.

He finished his career with 238 points to rank 19th on the all-time scoring list.

The other finalists for the award were Will Merchant of Eagan, Grant Opperman of Breck, Judd Peterson of Duluth Marshall, Jake Randolph of Duluth East, Charlie Sampair of Hill-Murray, Eric Schurhamer of St. Thomas Academy, Jared Thomas of Hermantown, Dom Toninato of Duluth East and Michael Zajac of Eagan.

Michael Bitzer of Moorhead won the Frank Brimsek award given to the state's top senior goaltender. Kyle Koop of Maple Grove was the other finalist.

Bitzer played in all 30 games for the Spuds, posting a 22-8-0 record, 1.80 goals-against average and .933 save percentage.

Mr. Hockey Award Winners

1985 Tom Chorske Minneapolis Southwest LW
1986 George Pelawa Bemidji RW
1987 Kris Miller Greenway, Coleraine D
1988 Larry Olimb Warroad C
1989 Trent Klatt Osseo RW
1990 Joe Dziedzic Minneapolis Edison LW
1991 Darby Hendrickson Richfield C
1992 Brian Bonin White Bear Lake C
1993 Nick Checco Bloomington Jefferson LW
1994 Mike Crowley Bloomington Jefferson D
1995 Erik Rasmussen St. Louis Park LW
1996 Dave Spehar Duluth East F
1997 Aaron Miskovich Grand Rapids C
1998 Johnny Pohl Red Wing C
1999 Jeff Taffe Hastings C
2000 Paul Martin Elk River D
2001 Marty Sertich Roseville C
2002 Gino Guyer Greenway, Coleraine C
2003 Nate Dey North St. Paul F
2004 Tom Gorowsky Centennial C
2005 Brian Lee Moorhead D
2006 David Fischer Apple Valley D
2007 Ryan McDonagh Cretin-Derham Hall D
2008 Aaron Ness Roseau D
2009 Nick Leddy Eden Prairie D
2010 Nick Bjugstad Blaine C
2011 Kyle Rau Eden Prairie C
2012 Justin Kloos Lakeville South C
2013 Grant Besse Benilde-St. Margaret's LW
2014 Avery Peterson Grand Rapids C
2015 Jake Jaremko Elk River F
2016 Riley Tufte Blaine LW
2017 Casey Mittelstadt Eden Prairie C
2018 Sammy Walker Edina C
2019 Bryce Brodzinski Blaine C
2020 Blake Biondi Hermantown C
2021 Jack Peart Grand Rapids D

Recent Stories