skip navigation

State 16s and 17s finalists named

By MN Hockey Hub staff, 04/27/12, 12:05AM CDT


Edina has four players and Minnetonka three headed to national camp in Rochester, N.Y.

Forward Connor Hurley is one of four Edina players selected to attend USA Hockey National Development camps in Rochester, N.Y., this summer. Photo by Adam Crane

Edina will send four players and Minnetonka three to USA Hockey National Player Development camps this summer in Rochester, N.Y., the most of any state high school league programs.

Edina forwards Dylan Malmquist and Cullen Munson and Hornets defenseman Jack Walker are among the 19 Minnesota players who will participate in the Select 16 camp July 7-13 in Rochester, N.Y.

Minnetonka forward Jack Ramsey and Skippers defensemen Jimmy Schuldt and Tommy Vannelli, along with Edina forward Connor Hurley, are among the 16 players picked for the Select 17 camp June 23-29.

Each state sends a predetermined allotment of players to the national camps each summer, with the number advancing determined by USA Hockey.

Minnesota players were selected after two consecutive weekends of tournaments in Plymouth. After a series of tryouts, players were divided into eight teams based on Minnesota State High School League playoff sections.

The top 54 players from each of the two age groups were then selected to compete in a two-day round-robin event that concluded on April 25.

All selected players will receive information about the national camps from USA Hockey by e-mail.

Questions about the Select 17 selections can be addressed to Rick Lowe at 320-333-5696 or rickl@minnesotahockey.org.

Select 16 questions can be addressed to Mark Palmer at 612-325-8068 or markp@minnesotahockey.org.

Minnesota Advanced 16s

Name Position School
Paul Bittner F Crookston
William Hammer F St. Cloud Cathedral
Dylan Malmquist F Edina
Joseph Marooney F Holy Family Catholic
Cullen Munson F Edina
Ryan Norman F Shattuck-St. Mary's
Chase Phelps F Shattuck-St. Mary's
Austin Poganski F St. Cloud Cathedral
Michael Sauer F Bemidji
Jake Wahlin F White Bear Lake
Andrew Zerban F Elk River
Jack Dougherty D St. Thoms Academy
Jack Glover D Benilde-St. Margaret's
Griffin Slightham D Rochester Lourdes
Jack Walker D Edina
Zach Weier D St. Thomas Academy
Nickolas Wolff D Eagan
Jake Kielly G Eden Prairie
Chase Perry G Andover

National camp dates: July 7-13, Rochester, N.Y.

Contact: Mark Palmer, 612-325-8068, markp@minnesotahockey.org

Minnesota Advanced 17s

Name Position School
Tyler Cline F Blaine
Thomas Hajicek F East Grand Forks
Connor Hurley F Edina
Carson Kuhlman F Cloquet
Dan Labosky F Benilde-St. Margaret's
Avery Peterson F Grand Rapids
Jack Ramsey F Minnetonka
Tyler Sheehy F Burnsville
Steven Spinner F Eden Prairie
Michael Brodzinski D Blaine
Jordan Gross D Maple Grove
Blake Heinrich D Hill-Murray
Neal Pionk D Hermantown
Jimmy Schuldt D Minnetonka
Tommy Vannelli D Minnetonka
Tanner Holmes G Thief River Falls

National camp dates: June 23-29, Rochester, N.Y.

Contact: Rick Lowe, 320-333-5696, rickl@minnesotahockey.org

Recent Stories