skip navigation

Warner picks Minnesota State

By Loren Nelson, MN Hockey Hub editor, 06/13/12, 10:32AM CDT


Eden Prairie defenseman, who will be a junior next season, commits to Mankato school

Hunter Warner

Hunter Warner, a defenseman who scored a goal and added nine assists in 26 games as a sophomore for Eden Prairie last season, has committed to play at Minnesota State.
Warner said he committed to play for the Mavericks on Monday, June 11, while in Mankato visiting the school.
The 6-foot-3, 190-pound Warner is an imposing physical presence and heavy hitter who ranked second on the Eagles last season with 37 penalty minutes. 
Warner’s often airtight play in the defensive zone helped Eden Prairie finish the regular season with a goals-against average under three (2.92). 
“He was matched up against most of the top lines last year,” said Eden Prairie coach Lee Smith. “[College scouts] were able to see him against a lot of god players. He’s grown into his body. He’s got a great physique.”
Smith said Warner has had a strong offseason, standing out in multiple all-star camps. 
“I think they are also projecting the future of where Hunter will be in a couple of years,” said Smith, who played at Minnesota State. “He moves well and has good hands.”
Warner is expected to be part of a standout defensive corps next season for Eden Prairie, a group that also includes Luc Snuggerud (5 goals, 15 assists) and Tyler Leddy (1 goal, 4 assists). Snuggerud will be a junior and Leddy a senior next season. 
Eden Prairie won state Class 2A titles in 2009 and 2011 and will likely start the 2012-13 season ranked among the state’s top five big-school teams.

Recent Stories

2011-12 Minnesota High School Division I Recruits

Name High School Year Pos. College Verbal Commit
Spencer Bell Maple Grove Senior F Wisconsin Yes
Grant Besse Benilde-St. Margaret's Junior F Wisconsin Yes
Jake Bischoff Grand Rapids Junior D Minnesota Yes
Michael Brodzinski Blaine Junior D Minnesota Yes
Andrew Commers St. Thomas Academy Senior F RPI Yes
Jordan Gross Maple Grove Junior D Notre Dame Yes
Jake Guentzel Hill-Murray Junior F Nebraska-Omaha Yes
Blake Heinrich Hill-Murray Junior D Minnesota-Duluth Yes
Christian Horn Benilde-St. Margaret's Senior F Minnesota Yes
Adam Johnson Hibbing Junior F Minnesota-Duluth Yes
Justin Kloos Lakeville South Senior F Minnesota Yes
Dan Labosky Benilde-St. Margaret's Junior F Colorado College Yes
Vinni Lettieri Minnetonka Junior F Minnesota Yes
Eli May Eagan Senior D Minnesota State Yes
Will Merchant Eagan Senior F Maine Yes
Lou Nanne Edina Junior F Minnesota Yes
Grant Opperman Breck Senior F Dartmouth Yes
Judd Peterson Duluth Marshall Senior F St. Cloud State Yes
Matt Pohlkamp Brainerd Senior F Bowling Green Yes
Jake Randolph Duluth East Senior F Nebraska-Omaha Yes
Charlie Sampair Hill-Murray Senior F Minnesota-Duluth Yes
Joe Schuldt Minnetonka Senior D Michigan Tech Yes
Eric Schurhamer St. Thomas Academy Senior D Maine Yes
Dylan Steman Maple Grove Senior F Michigan Tech Yes
Jared Thomas Hermantown Senior F Minnesota-Duluth Yes
Dom Toninato Duluth East Senior F Minnesota-Duluth Yes
Hunter Warner Eden Prairie Sophomore D Minnesota State Yes
Sam Wolfe Eagan Senior D Maine Yes
Michael Zajac Eagan Senior F Princeton Yes