skip navigation

MHCA announces 2012-13 award winners

By MHCA Communications, 11/15/12, 9:00PM CST


Winners to be honored at 2013 banquet

At it’s fall conference, the Minnesota Hockey Coaches Association selected its award recipients for 2012-13.

Three people will be inducted into the MHCA Hall of Fame and four others will be honored for their contributions and accomplishments with individual awards.

Going into the hall of fame this year are Bruce Olson (Roseau/Warroad), Pat Guyer (Greenway) and John Barger (Burnsville/New Prague/St. Louis Park).

Individual awards will be given to:

Cliff Thompson Award (for outstanding, long-term contributions to the sport of hockey in Minnesota)—Jake McCoy, Richfield.

Oscar Almquist Award (given to a non-coach who has contributed to the success of high hockey by advancing opportunities for players and coaches)—Doug Johnson, Let’s Play Hockey.

Dave Peterson Award (given to a high school hockey coach whose efforts have helped strengthen the bond between youth and high school hockey)—Wes Bolin, Woodbury.

Bruce Johnson Award (given to an MHCA board member who has made extraordinary contributions to the association)—Scott Macho, South St. Paul.

The hall of fame inductions and award presentations will take place at the Association’s annual banquet, sponsored by TST Media, March 7, at the St. Paul River Centre, held in conjunction with the Minnesota State High School League boys’ hockey tournament.