skip navigation

Chart: Past winners of the Star Tribune's Metro Player of the Year award in boys' hockey

By Star Tribune, 03/04/13, 7:52PM CST


Past Winners

Past Winners

The 30 previous winners of the Star Tribune’s Metro Player of the Year award in boys’ hockey:

1985: Tom Chorske, Mpls. Southwest

1986: Scott Bloom, Burnsville

1987: Jon Manthey, Anoka

1988: Tom Pederson, Bloomington Jefferson

1989: Trent Klatt, Osseo

1990: Craig Johnson,Hill-Murray

1991: Darby Hendrickson, Richfield

1992: Brian Bonin, White Bear Lake

1993: Nick Checco, Bloomington Jefferson

1994: Mike Crowley, Bloomington Jefferson

1995: Richie Anderson, Elk River

1996: Shawn Pogreba, St. Paul Johnson

1997: Dan Carlson, Edina

1998: Johnny Pohl, Red Wing

1999: Jeff Taffe, Hastings; Dan Welch, Hastings

2000: Paul Martin, Elk River

2001: Marty Sertich, Roseville

2002: Travis Morin, Osseo

2003: Mike Lundin, Apple Valley

2004: Tom Gorowsky, Centennial

2005: R.J. Anderson, Centennial

2006: Jay Barriball, Holy Angels

2007: Michael Dorr, Roseville

2008: Jake Gardiner, Minnetonka

2009: Nick Leddy, Eden Prairie

2010: Nick Bjugstad, Blaine

2011: Kyle Rau, Eden Prairie

2012: Justin Kloos, Lakeville South

Related Stories

  • Star Tribune Talking Preps fall podcast: Episode 12

  • By Star Tribune 11/14/2018, 1:00pm CST
  • In the latest Talking Preps podcast, staff writers David La Vaque and Jim Paulsen ruminate about a memorable championship Saturday of volleyball, football semifinal match-ups at U.S. Bank Stadium and the start of two anniversary seasons of hockey.
  • Read More
  • Boys' hockey schedules posted

  • By Trevor Squire, SportsEngine 10/12/2018, 12:15pm CDT
  • Minnetonka, the defending Class 2A champion, will have a steep challenge when it faces St. Thomas Academy in The Opener on Nov. 23.
  • Read More