skip navigation

Randolph, Smalley named top coaches

By Minnesota Hockey Coaches Association, 03/14/13, 12:00AM CDT


Duluth East's Mike Randolph in Class 2A, Duluth Denfeld's Kevin Smalley in 1A honored

The Minnesota Hockey Coaches Association has named its 2013 section coach of the year recipients along with the John Mariucci Award winners as the state coach of the year.

The Mariucci Award winner for Class 2A is Mike Randolph of Duluth East. It is the first Mariucci Award for Randolph, who this season guided his team to the state tournament for the 14th in the past 23 seasons. The Greyhounds have made six appearances in the championship game during his tenure while winning titles in 1995 and 1998.

The Class 1A head coach of the year is Duluth Denfeld’s Kevin Smalley, who also won the award in 2010. This season, Smalley lead the Hunters to a 19-9-0 record this season and the Section 7A title game, finishing the regular season ranked ninth in the Associated Press Class A poll.

Assistant coach of the year awards went to Bryan Erickson of Roseau in Class 2A and East Grand Forks’ Scott Oliver in Class 1A.

This year’s academic state champions are Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato in Class 1A and East Ridge in Class 2A.

The Class 1A state academic title is the third consecutive award for head coach Chris Olson and the Dragons.

In Class 2A, the award is the first for head coach Doug Long and the Raptors.

Section Coaches of the Year

Section Head Coach Assistant
1AA Lorne Grosso, Rochester Mayo Ryan Kraft, Lakeville North
2AA Curt Giles, Edina Dave Terwilliger, Edina
3AA Drey Bradley, Eastview Sam Bauler, Eastview
4AA Jim McElmury/Steve Romanchuk, Tartan Paul Benson, Stillwater
5AA Ritch Menne, Centennial Gary Tolkinen, Centennial
6AA Pat O'Leary, Wayzata Dave Liebrenz, Benilde-St. Margaret's
7AA Mike Randolph, Duluth East Dylan Mills, Duluth East
8AA Pete Cullen, Moorhead Bryan Erickson, Roseau
1A Curtis Doell, Mankato West Cory Miller, Northfield
2A Doug Runke, Mound-Westonka John Frazier, Mound-Westonka
3A Dave Coudert, Marshall Scott Mellenthin, Marshall
4A Bill Owens, St. Paul Academy Matt Funk, St. Paul Academy
5A Bruce Plante, Hermantown Ron Brown, St. Cloud Cathedral
6A Pete Matanich, St. Cloud Apollo Bob Stark, Little Falls
7A Kevin Smalley, Duluth Denfeld Bryan Lent, Duluth Denfeld
8A Tyler Palmiscno, East Grand Forks Scott Oliver, East Grand Forks

Class 2A John Mariucci Award-State Coach of the Year
Head Coach -- Mike Randolph, Duluth East
Assistant Coach -- Bryan Erickson, Roseau

Class 1A John Mariucci Award-State Coach of the Year
Head Coach -- Kevin Smalley, Duluth Denfeld
Assistant Coach -- Scott Oliver, East Grand Forks

Section Academic Champions

Section Team GPA Coach
1AA Dodge County 3.45 Eric Hoffman
2AA Bloomington Jefferson 3.42 Jeff Lindquist
3AA East Ridge 3.75 Doug Long
4AA North St. Paul* 3.71 Jerry Diebel
5AA Champlin Park 3.46 Pat Janostin
6AA Robbinsdale Armstrong 3.63 Danny Charleston
7AA Elk River 3.50 Gordie Roberts
8AA St. Cloud Tech 3.54 Joel Heitkamp
1A Mankato West 3.75 Curtis Doell
2A Mound-Westonka 3.63 Doug Runke
3A Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato* 3.77 Chris Olson
4A Totino-Grace* 3.66 Mark Loahr
5A St. Cloud Cathedral 3.72 Eric Johnson
6A Alexandria 3.44 Scott Woods
7A Duluth Marshall 3.51 Brendan Flaherty
8A East Grand Forks 3.53 Tyler Palmiscno

Class 2A Academic Champion
East Ridge, 3.75 GPA

Class 1A Academic Champion
Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato*, 3.77 GPA

* Repeat winner from 2012

Recent Stories