skip navigation

Snodgrass' overtime goal lifts Eastview over Eagan

By MN Hockey Hub, 01/10/14, 3:45PM CST


Lightning senior John Snodgrass scores winner on power play against section rival Wildcats

In a rematch of last year's Section 3AA championship, John Snodgrass scored the deciding goal on a power play with 1:09 left in overtime, sealing a 3-2 win for No. 14-ranked Eastview over No. 20 Eagan at TCF Bank Stadium in Minneapolis.

Eagan's Jack Jenson slid a pass across the slot to Kyle Stebbing, who one-timed it home on the power play to even the score at 1-1 halfway through the first period.

Jenson put the Wildcats ahead 2-1 in the second period. Relentless on the penalty kill, he lifted a Lightning defender's stick and stole the puck. Jenson, under pressure, fell and hopped back to his skates in time to move the puck to his backhand and score opposite corner past Zach Driscoll.

Eastview tied it at 2 with 7:23 remaining when Pierce Erickson pushed the puck through a scrum of players in front of Eagan goalie Andrew Lindgren. Somehow the puck crossed the red line.

Neither team could score in the third period, leading to the 8-minute overtime period.

Nick Wolff called for his third penalty of the game with a 1:45 left in overtime and the Wildcats just fighting for a tie. Eastview worked the puck around to Tommy Hutsell on the edge, and he sent a pass across to Snodgrass for the game-winning one-timer.

Driscoll faced a barrage of Eagan shots and kept the Lightning in the game by stopping 39 of 41 shots.

Eastview and Eagan will meet again Feb. 11 in another South Suburban Conference showdown.

-- Trevor Squire

Statistics, Summary

Spotlight Games

Recent Stories