skip navigation

Blaine's Bjugstad named Mr. Hockey

By Loren Nelson, Editor, 03/14/10, 12:04PM CDT


Bengals' big center and future Gopher selected as state's top senior

Nick Bjugstad, the smooth-skating, 6-foot-4, 180-pound Blaine forward with the NHL-caliber wrist shot, was named Mr. Hockey on Sunday, March 14.

Bjugstad is a junior-aged student who accelerated his studies so he could graduate early. He is expected to be a first-round pick in June's NHL draft and play for Minnesota next season.

Bjugstad had 35 goals and 34 assists and almost singlehandedly led the Bengals to the state Class AA tournament, scoring two goals in each of Blaine's Section 5AA semifinal and final victories over Osseo and Maple Grove, respectively.

Bjugstad, the newphew of former Minnesota North Star Scott Bjugstad, scored at least one goal in eight of Blaine's final nine regular season games. He scored two goals in each of the Bengals' three sectional playoff games before being shut out in state tournament losses to Apple Valley and Roseau.

Bjugstad was presented with the award during the Mr. Hockey Awards banquet at the RiverCentre in St. Paul.

2010 Mr. Hockey Finalists

Mark Alt Cretin-Derham Hall 10/18/1991 6'3" 199 D Minnesota
Joey Benik St. Francis 1/26/1992 5'9" 151 F St. Cloud State
Nick Bjugstad Blaine 7/17/1992 6'4" 180 F Minnesota
Cal Decowski Andover 2/4/1992 5'7" 160 F UM-Duluth
Max Gardiner Minnetonka 5/7/1992 6'2" 205 F Minnesota
Caleb Herbert Bloomington Jefferson 10/12/1991 5'10" 180 F UM-Duluth
Justin Holl Minnetonka 1/30/1992 6'2" 170 D Minnesota
Christian Isackson St. Thomas Academy 1/20/1992 6'0" 174 F Minnesota
Adam Krause Hermantown 9/12/1991 6'1" 175 F UM-Duluth
Brock Nelson Warroad 10/15/1991 6'2" 205 F North Dakota

Mr. Hockey winners

Year Name School
2011 Kyle Rau Eden Prairie
2010 Nick Bjugstad Blaine
2009 Nick Leddy Eden Prairie
2008 Aaron Ness Roseau
2007 Ryan McDonagh Cretin-Derham Hall
2006 David Fischer Apple Valley
2005 Brian Lee Moorhead
2004 Tom Gorowsky Centennial
2003 Nate Dey North St. Paul
2002 Gino Guyer Greenway
2001 Marty Sertich Roseville
2000 Paul Martin Elk River
1999 Jeff Taffe Hastings
1998 Johnny Pohl Red Winig
1997 Aaron Miskovich Grand Rapids
1996 Dave Spehar Duluth East
1995 Erik Rasmussen St. Louis Park
1994 Mike Crowley Bloomington Jefferson
1993 Nick Checco Bloomington Jefferson
1992 Brian Bonin White Bear Lake
1991 Darby Hendrickson Richfield
1990 Joe Dziedzic Minneapolis Edison
1989 Trent Klatt Osseo
1988 Larry Olimb Warroad
1987 Kris Miller Greenway
1986 George Pelawa Bemidji
1985 Tom Chorske Minneapolis Southwest