skip navigation

Apple Valley's Hayes, Duluth Denfeld's Smalley honored

By staff reports, 03/16/10, 3:13PM CDT


State association names its coaches of the year, top academic teams

Section and state coaches of the year were selected at the Minnesota Hockey Coaches Association general membership meeting on Saturday, March 13.

Jerry Hayes, who guided Apple Valley to its first state tournament appearance since 1996, was named the Class AA Coach of the Year and Kevin Smalley, who guided Duluth Denfeld to the Section 5A championship game, was named the Class A Coach of the Year.

Coaches and assistant coaches of the year also were selected in each of the state's 16 sections.

Also, Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato was announced as the Class A academic champion with a cumulative team GPA of 3.87 while Eden Prairie was named the Class AA academic champion for the second straight year with a 3.87 GPA.

MHCA Coaches of the Year

Section Head coach School Assistant coach School
1A George Nemanich/Brad Ryan Red Wing/Faribault Bob Rajanen/Chris Morris Red Wing/New Prague
1AA Randy Schmitz Lakeville North Paul Rutt Lakeville North
2A Steve Brown Delano Donnie Williams St. Louis Park
2AA Janne Kivihalmme Burnsville Todd Kennedy and Kevin Ingvalson Prior Lake
3A Erik Setterholm New Ulm Ross Wendling Hutchinson
3AA Jerry Hayes Apple Valley Chris Sikich Apple Valley
4A Jeff Poeschl Mahtomedi Dave Turbitt Spring Lake Park
4AA Jerry Diebel North St. Paul Tony Ciro Hill-Murray
5A Kevin Smalley Duluth Denfeld Darin Illikainen Hermantown
5AA Gary Stefano Maple Grove Josh Hicks Maple Grove
6A Scott Woods Alexandria Pat Forte Sartell
6AA Brian Urick Minnetonka Steve Aronson Minnetonka
7A Mark DeCenzo Hibbing George McDonald International Falls
7AA Bill Thoreson and Mark Manney Andover Dan Forsythe Forest Lake
8A Scott Klein Kittson Central Jason Soblik Kittson Central
8AA Andy Lundbohm Roseau Bryan "Butsy" Erickson and Aaron Broten Roseau