skip navigation

Besse, Moore among initial nominees for Hobey Baker Award

By BSMHockey.com, 01/20/16, 12:00PM CST


Red Knight alums on ballot for college hockey's top player.

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. -- Benilde-St. Margaret's alums Grant Besse ('13) and T.J. Moore ('13) are among the 66 nominees for the 2016 Hobey Baker Award.

The winner of this season's award, given to the most outstanding college hockey player in the United States each season, will be announced April 8, during the NCAA Frozen Four in Tampa, Fla., and will be presented at the Hobey Baker Award Banquet, May 26.

Besse, BSM's record holder for career goals (163) and points (272), led the Red Knights' to the 2012 Class AA state title by scoring all five goals, including three short handed, in a 5-1 championship-game win over Hill-Murray.

A fifth-round draft pick of the Anaheim Ducks in 2013, Besse has five goals and 18 points in 20 games this season. In his third season with the Badgers, he has tallied 24 goals and 54 points in 88 career games.

During his four-year Red Knight career, Moore ranked fourth in assists (93) and fifth in goals (70) and points (163).

Moore, in his second season with the Crusaders, has 12 goals and 20 points in 22 games and, in 59 career games, has amassed 23 goals and 43 points.

Fans can vote for the nominees in the selection process at this time by going to the Vote for Hobey - Fan Site.

Grant Besse is leading Wisconsin in scoring for the second consecutive season.

T.J. Moore leads Holy Cross with 12 goals this season.