skip navigation

Meet the Star Tribune All-Metro first team

By David La Vaque, Star Tribune, 02/29/16, 7:30PM CST


Click to see the Metro Player of the Year

The Star Tribune boys' All-Metro first team, from left, Matt Anderson (Holy Family Catholic), Casey Mittelstadt (Eden Prairie), Josh Benson (Stillwater), Cade Gleekel (BSM), Nick Austin (BSM) and Riley Tufte (Blaine). Photo by Richard Tsong-Taatarii

Prep Power Play: Star Tribune boys' hockey All-Metro first team

Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year

Riley Tufte

Blaine, forward, senior

Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year. Great size (6-5, 215), skill and physical play had NHL salivating and the opposition suffering. Scored 49 goals and added 36 assists. Mr. Hockey favorite and projected first-round NHL draft pick. “We had all senior defensemen and he just kept running them over,” one metro-area coach said. “He’s the guy.” Committed to Minnesota-Duluth. 

Click to read David La Vaque's feature on Riley Tufte


All-Metro First Team


The Star Tribune’s All-Metro teams and Metro Player of the Year were chosen based on nominations from metro-area coaches, conversations with a panel of coaches and staff observations.

David La Vaque • 612-673-7574


The MN Hockey Hub poll is based on opinion and for entertainment purposes only.


Past Star Tribune
Metro Players of the Year

2015: Dylan Malmquist, Edina
2014: Brock Boeser, Burnsville
2013: Grant Besse, Benilde-St. Margaret’s
2012: Justin Kloos, Lakeville South
2011: Kyle Rau, Eden Prairie
2010: Nick Bjugstad, Blaine
2009: Nick Leddy, Eden Prairie
2008: Jake Gardiner, Minnetonka
2007: Michael Dorr, Roseville
2006: Jay Barriball, Holy Angels
2005: R.J. Anderson, Centennial
2004: Tom Gorowsky, Centennial
2003: Mike Lundin, Apple Valley
2002: Travis Morin, Osseo
2001: Marty Sertich, Roseville
2000: Paul Martin, Elk River
1999: Jeff Taffe, Hastings; Dan Welch, Hastings
1998: Johnny Pohl, Red Wing
1997: Dan Carlson, Edina
1996: Shawn Pogreba, St. Paul Johnson
1995: Richie Anderson, Elk River
1994: Mike Crowley, Bloomington Jefferson
1993: Nick Checco, Bloomington Jefferson
1992: Brian Bonin, White Bear Lake
1991: Darby Hendrickson, Richfield
1990: Craig Johnson, Hill-Murray
1989: Trent Klatt, Osseo
1988: Tom Pederson, Bloomington Jefferson
1987: Jon Manthey, Anoka
1986: Scott Bloom, Burnsville; Jim Carroll, Edina
1985: Tom Chorske, Minneapolis Southwest

Past Star Tribune all-metro first teams

Most Popular

  • Andover slips past Maple Grove

  • By Drew Herron, SportsEngine 12/16/2021, 6:00pm CST
  • The Huskies' penalty killers stayed strong throughout while the offense capitalized on opportunities.
  • Read More