skip navigation

Minnesota's Select 16s and 17s finalists named

By Sport Ngin, 05/02/16, 9:00PM CDT


Edina led all state high school programs with six selections for the player development camps.

Samuel Walker (10) was one of six Edina players selected to participate in the USA Hockey National Player Development Camps this summer. Photo by Brian Nelson

Edina will be well represented this summer at the USA Hockey National Player Development Camps.

The Hornets led all Minnesota high school programs with six finalists for elite training sessions held in Amherst, New York.

Edina forwards Ben Copeland, Bram Scheerer and Samuel Walker and defenseman Clayton Phillips are four of the 18 Minnesota players picked to participate in the Select 17 session on June 24-30, while Hornets forward Jett Jungels and defenseman Michael Vorlicky will join 14 others at the Select 16 camp on July 8-14.

Hill-Murray, Lakeville South and St. Paul Academy each had three finalists while Class 1A state champion Hermantown, Bemidji and Moorhead had two apiece. Class 2A state champion Wayzata and runner-up Eden Prairie, along with Class 1A runner-up Breck, were among the programs that had one player selected.

The list of Minnesota's finalists is below.

The camps provide a combination of training, coaching and competition to some of the country’s top young skaters, according the USA Hockey website. Players are selected from groups participating in USA Hockey district camps, and the state’s finalists were chosen after a series of tryouts and tournaments held the last two weeks of April.

First Name Last Name Position School Select Camp
Isaac Johnson F Anoka 17s
Alex Pollock F Bemidji 17s
Chase Hartje D Bemidji 17s
Connor Mayer D Benilde-St. Margaret's 17s
Nick Strom D Breck 16s
Brehdan Engum D Burnsville 16s
Brian Halonen F Delano 17s
Nolan Sullivan F Eden Prairie 17s
Jett Jungels F Edina 16s
Michael Vorlicky D Edina 16s
Ben Copeland F Edina 17s
Bram Scheerer F Edina 17s
Samuel Walker F Edina 17s
Clayton Phillips D Edina 17s
Ryan Sandelin F Hermantown 17s
Dylan Samberg D Hermantown 17s
Ben Helgeson F Hill-Murray 16s
Marko Reifenberger F Hill-Murray 17s
Jake Begley G Hill-Murray 17s
Matt Anderson D Holy Family Catholic 17s
Dawson Klein D Lakeville South 16s
Zachary Zemlak D Lakeville South 16s
Joshua Ess D Lakeville South 17s
Jack Bayless F Minnetonka 16s
Isaac Henkemeyer-Howe F Moorhead 16s
Ethan Frisch D Moorhead 16s
Xander Lamppa F Rochester John Marshall 16s
Andrew Stoneman F Shattuck-St. Mary's 16s
Devlin McCabe F St. Paul Academy 16s
Andrew Beran G St. Paul Academy 16s
Matt Dahlseide F St. Paul Academy 17s
Chase Foley F St. Thomas Academy 16s
Noah Cates F Stillwater 17s
Colin Schmidt F Wayzata 16s

Most Popular

  • Five reasons Edina became a state champion

  • By DAVID LA VAQUE, Star Tribune 03/11/2024, 9:30am CDT
  • The 14th state championship for Edina/Edina East featured, of course, a hot goalie, but it also came with a list of intangible reasons for success.
  • Read More