skip navigation

Coaches association announces Hall of Fame inductees

By staff reports, 12/07/10, 2:42PM CST


Cliff Kauppi, Lou Nanne highlight Class of 2011

The Minnesota Hockey Coaches Association Hall of Fame has announced the Class of 2011.

Cliff Kauppi, considered by many as the "Father of Grand Rapids Hockey" and Lou Nanne, 11-year NHL veteran and former University of Minnesota Golden Gopher standout, will be inducted into the MHCA Hall of Fame during the MHCA's annual banquet which will be held on March 10, 2011.

The three additional inductees joining Kauppi and Nanne include Bob Frerker (Rochester John Marshall), George Karn (South St. Paul) and Ron Sellnow (Hopkins).

The MHCA also announced the winners of four annual, individual awards.

Jeff Whisler (Hill-Murray/Mahtomedi), MHCA Hall of Fame Class of 2005, has been chosen as the recipient of the Cliff Thompson Award.

Wally O’Dell will receive the Oscar Almquist Award, Steve “Moose” Younghans (St. Paul Johnson) will receive the Dave Peterson Award and Sheldon Weston (Monticello) will receive the Bruce Johnson Award.

For the official press release including inductee/honoree biographies and descriptions of the awards, see the PDF file below.

Related Stories