skip navigation

Falcons fall to Mound-Westonka

By By: Tyler Mason, 12/18/10, 7:18PM CST


Faribault High School senior Colbey Hullett lines up a shot during the second period of Saturday’s game against Mound-Westonka. FHS lost, 4-0. (Tyler Mason/Daily News)

After a 4-0 loss Saturday to Mound-Westonka, Faribault High School boys hockey coach Brad Ryan said his team’s leaders made themselves heard in the locker room.

“We sat down as a team afterward and we had a pretty good heart-to-heart,” Ryan said. “We had four seniors that stood up and had some good things to say.”

“We’ve just got to work on our team chemistry,” senior Sean Lipinski said. “Just try and get things to work out together a lot better than it’s been going.”

Saturday’s loss was the second straight for Faribault (2-3), and the second shutout so far this season. Ryan said the big thing against the White Hawks (2-2-2) was that FHS didn’t win enough 1-on-1 and 2-on-1 battles. As a result, the offensive chances didn’t come very often for the Falcons.

“We broke it down as simple as that,” Ryan said. “We have to compete more.”

Mound-Westonka’s Jack Brandstetter opened up the scoring Saturday with a power play goal at the 10:35 mark of the second period. His deflection beat FHS goalie Jarrad Bruessel 17 seconds into the White Hawks power play.

Just over one minute later, Mound-Westonka struck again. This time it was Charlie Hales netting a goal, as he beat Bruessel on a breakaway for a 2-0 lead.

From there, Faribault never recovered.

“You could just feel it on the bench. There wasn’t any urgency or drive,” Lipinski said.

Hunter Smith gave the White Hawks with 24.7 seconds in the second after a sprawling Bruessel couldn’t reach back in time for the save. Matt Pearson’s third-period goal capped the scoring for Mound-Westonka.

“I think the main thing is to stay focused as a team,” Ryan said. “Better days are ahead.”


MW    0    3    1    —    4
FHS    0    0    0    —    0
Scoring — First period: No scoring. Second period: 10:35 MW Jack Brandstetter (Charlie Curti) PPG, 9:33 MW Charlie Hales (Brandstetter), 0:24 MW Hunter Smith (William Griffith). Third period: 2:16 MW Matt Pearson (unassisted).