skip navigation

Updated boys' hockey state rankings: Feb. 22

By Samuel Wigness, SportsEngine, 02/24/17, 11:45AM CST


Click to see this week's rankings.

Click here to see the entire Class 1A and Class 2A rankings.

Class 2A

Eden Prairie held the No. 1 spot in this week's Class 2A state rankings after receiving 10 first-place votes in the coaches' poll.

After going 2-4-2 from Dec. 15-31, the Eagles (19-4-2) finished the regular season by winning 13 consecutive games. During the winning streak, they held each opponent to fewer than four goals in a game and only gave up three goals twice.

Mr. Hockey finalists Nicky Leivermann and Casey Mittelstadt combined for 31 goals and 67 assists for the Eagles this season.

Edina (18-6-1) and Elk River (21-4-0) remained at No. 2 and No. 3, respectively, heading into sections. The Hornets outscored their opponents 16-3 in their final three regular-season games and the Elks went  9-1-0 in the 10 games leading up to the postseason. 

After being ranked No. 1 for the first half of the season, Stillwater (22-3-0) comes in at No. 4. The Ponies were unbeaten until a Jan. 14 defeat to No. 16 White Bear Lake and lost hold of the top spot in the rankings after losing to Eden Prairie on Jan. 21. 

Holy Family Catholic (20-4-1) dropped from No. 4 to No. 5 following a 3-1 loss to Stillwater. Centennial and St. Thomas Academy each moved up a spot after Lakeville North's 3-2 loss to Prior Lake caused the Panthers to drop from sixth to eighth in the poll. 

Moorhead (19-3-3) is No. 10 after finishing strong with a 9-0-1 record in its last 10 games, including four shutouts in their past eight games.

Former No. 1 Hill-Murray (16-5-4) was at No. 11 after losing four of its final eight regular-season games.

Click here to see complete rankings.

Class 1A

The Class 1A top 10 remained unchanged from last week.

Hermantown (23-1-1) maintained its No. 1 ranking in the poll behind an offense that is second in Class 1A in goals per game (5.72) and first in goals against per game (1.32).

Hawks' defenseman Dylan Samberg (10 goals, 18 assists) and forward Ryan Sandelin (27 goals, 36 assists) are Mr. Hockey finalists, and goalie Cade Mcewen is one of two Frank Brimsek Award finalists.

Breck (20-3-2) wrapped up the regular season winning 11 straight games, helping the Mustangs hold the No. 2 ranking.

Delano (21-3-1) finished at No. 3 after beating its final three opponents before the postseason by a combined score of 23-1. Tigers' Mr. Hockey finalist Ben Meyers led the state in assists (53) and points (99) and finished second in goals (46).

Despite its relatively weak 13-11-1 record, Mahtomedi earned the No. 5 spot in the Class 1A rankings. The Zephyrs beat No. 7-2A St. Thomas Academy on Jan. 14 and No. 6-1A St. Cloud Cathedral in their regular-season finale.

St. Paul Johnson (17-6-2) climbed from No. 14 to No. 13 after beating Detroit Lakes and St. Paul Highland Park by a combined score of 11-4, while Northfield (17-5-3) dropped from No. 13 to No. 14. 

Click here to see complete rankings.

Recent Stories

Tag(s): Home  Rankings  MSHSL Conferences  Big Nine  Albert Lea  Austin  Faribault  Mankato East/Loyola  Mankato West  Northfield  Owatonna  Red Wing  Rochester Century  Rochester John Marshall  Rochester Mayo  Winona  Big South  Fairmont  Minnesota River  Luverne  Marshall  New Ulm  Redwood Valley  Waseca  Windom  Worthington  Central Lakes  Alexandria  Brainerd  Fergus Falls  River Lakes  Sartell-St. Stephen  Sauk Rapids-Rice  Willmar  Granite Ridge  Little Falls  St. Cloud Cathedral  IMAC  Blake  Breck  Minnehaha Academy  Providence Academy  St. Paul Academy   Independents  Breckenridge/Wahpeton  Dodge County  Duluth East  Ely  Grand Rapids  Holy Angels  La Crescent-Hokah  Minneapolis  North Shore  Rochester Lourdes  St. Paul Johnson  Iron Range  Eveleth-Gilbert  Greenway  Hibbing/Chisholm  International Falls  Virginia/Mountain Iron-Buhl  Lake  Eden Prairie  Edina  Hopkins  Minnetonka  Wayzata  Lake Superior  Cloquet-Esko-Carlton  Duluth Denfeld  Duluth Marshall  Hermantown  Proctor  Superior (Wis.)  Mariucci  Bemidji  Crookston  East Grand Forks  Moorhead  Roseau  Thief River Falls  Warroad  Metro East  Hastings  Two Rivers  Hill-Murray  Mahtomedi  North St. Paul  Simley  South St. Paul  St. Thomas Academy  Tartan  Metro West  Bloomington Jefferson  Bloomington Kennedy  Chanhassen  Chaska  St. Louis Park  Mid-State  Detroit Lakes  Northern Lakes  Park Rapids  Prairie Centre  Wadena-Deer Creek  Mississippi 8  Buffalo  Cambridge-Isanti  Chisago Lakes  Monticello  North Branch  Princeton  Rogers  STMA  St. Francis  Northwest   Bagley/Fosston  Kittson Central  Lake of the Woods  Red Lake Falls  Northwest Suburban  Northwest Suburban - North  Andover  Anoka  Blaine  Centennial  Elk River/Zimmerman  Maple Grove  Northwest Suburban - West  Coon Rapids  Irondale  Osseo  Armstrong/Cooper  Spring Lake Park  Totino-Grace  Champlin Park  South Suburban  Apple Valley  Burnsville  Eagan  Eastview  Farmington  Lakeville North  Lakeville South  Prior Lake  Rosemount  Shakopee  Southwest  Morris/Benson  Suburban East  Cretin-Derham Hall  East Ridge  Forest Lake  Mounds View  Park of Cottage Grove  Roseville  Stillwater  White Bear Lake  Woodbury  Two Rivers  Becker/Big Lake  Legacy Christian  Moose Lake Area  Mora/Milaca  Pine City Area  St. Paul Highland Park  Wright County  Delano  Holy Family  Hutchinson  Litchfield/Dassel-Cokato  Mound Westonka  New Prague  Orono  Waconia  Southwest Christian/Richfield  St. Cloud