skip navigation

Reed Larson Award candidates named

By Star Tribune staff, 02/28/17, 8:00PM CST


Let’s Play Hockey newspaper announced the 24 candidates

Let’s Play Hockey newspaper announced the 24 candidates for the 2017 Reed Larson Award, which will be presented to the top senior boys’ high school hockey defenseman in Minnesota.

The winner of the Reed Larson Award will be presented at one of the State Tournament Banquets on March 7 or 8 at Roy Wilkins Auditorium.

In addition to on-ice talent, criteria for the Reed Larson Award include academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship and coachability. Past winners: 2016 Wyatt Aamodt (Hermantown), 2015 Jacob Olson (Hill-Murray), 2014 Luc Snuggerud (Eden Prairie), 2013 Jake Bischoff (Grand Rapids).

In alphabetical order, here are the nominees for the 2017 Reed Larson Award 

Matt Anderson    Holy Family
Mitchel Andres    Brainerd
Colin Baird    Mounds View
Luke Bjork    Burnsville
Jake Borgida    Blake
Lincoln Erne    Blaine 
Josh Ess    Lakeville South   
Luke Heffernen    St. Paul Johnson    
Reid Hill    Duluth East    
Jack Kelly    St. Michael-Albertville    
Ryan Kranz    Centennial   
Andrew Kruse    Delano    
Nicky Leivermann    Eden Prairie    
Joe Liberty    Duluth Marshall    
Kyle Looft    Mankato West   
Benton Maass    Elk River   
Spencer Meier    Sartell-St. Stephen  
Nick Mueller    Buffalo  
Noel Parker    St. Paul Academy    
Keaton Pehrson    Lakeville North    
Nick Perbix    Elk River    
Dylan Samberg    Hermantown   
Robbie Stucker    St. Thomas Academy  
Zach Van Sant    Minnetonka  

Spotlight Game Coverage

Most Popular

  • Pedal to the metal

  • By Loren Nelson, Editor 09/12/2011, 9:57am CDT
  • Top 100 selection Eric Strobel of Rochester Mayo had speed to burn as high school phenom
  • Read More