skip navigation

MAML, Grand Rapids lead state entrants with four all-tournament selections

By Trevor Squire, SportsEngine, 03/12/17, 10:45AM CDT


Hermantown and Moorhead each had three players named to the teams.

Goalie Tyler Klatt was one of four players from Monticello-Annandale-Maple Lake to be named to the 2017 Class 1A All-Tournament team. Photo by ANTHONY SOUFFLE • anthony.souffle@startribune.com

Class 1A

Dylan Samberg’s game-winner in double-overtime helped Hermantown repeat as Class 1A champions. Samberg, Ryan Sandelin (who led the tournament field with five goals and eight points) and Jesse Jacques made the all-tournament team roster for the Hawks, but it was state runner-up Monticello/Annandale/Maple Lake (MAML) that boasted the most selected players with four. Ben Ward posted a tournament-high five assists and seven points for the Moose, while goaltender Tyler Klatt made 54 saves in the championship game. 

Here's the entire list.

Andrew Kruse, Delano defender

Ben Meyers, Delano forward

Casey Kallock, East Grand Forks defender

Jake Levinski, St. Cloud Cathedral goalie

Jake Van Halbeck, St. Cloud Cathedral forward

Dylan Samberg, Hermantown defender

Jesse Jacques, Hermantown center

Ryan Sandelin, Hermantown center

Ben Ward, Monticello/Annandale/Maple Lake forward

Charlie Voller, Monticello/Annandale/Maple Lake defender

Nick Zwack, Monticello/Annandale/Maple Lake forward

Tyler Klatt, Monticello/Annandale/Maple Lake goalie


Grand Rapids' Gavin Hain (8) and teammate Blake McLaughlin (7) were named to the Class 2A All-Tournament team. Photo by AARON LAVINSKY • aaron.lavinsky@startribune.com

Class 2A

Gavin Hain’s hat trick led Grand Rapids to its first state championship since 1980. The Thunderhawks roster contains four selections on the all-tournament team in Hain, Herb Brooks Award winner Micah Miller, goalie Zach Stejskal and Blake McLaughlin. Class 2A runner-up Moorhead boasts three selections: Carter Randklev, Ethan Frisch and Carson Kosobud.

The complete list is below.

Casey Mittelstadt, Eden Prairie forward

Nolan Sullivan, Eden Prairie forward

Isaiah DiLaura, Lakeville South goalie

Joshua Ess, Lakeville South defender

Robbie Stucker, St. Thomas Academy defender

Carson Kosobud, Moorhead defender

Carter Randklev, Moorhead forward

Ethan Frisch, Moorhead defender

Blake McLaughlin, Grand Rapids forward

Gavin Hain, Grand Rapids forward

Micah Miller, Grand Rapids forward

Zach Stejskal, Grand Rapids goalie


*Both teams are selected by a panel of coaches and media attending the tournament.

Spotlight Game Coverage

Most Popular