skip navigation

Minnesotans Taken in the NHL Draft

By John Kelsey, SportsEngine, 06/26/17, 5:30PM CDT


Seventeen current or former Minnesota high schoolers were taken in the 2017 NHL Draft.

Eden Prairie's Casey Mittelstadt by Star Tribune's Carlos Gonzalez. • cgonzalez@startribune.com

1 8 Buffalo Sabres Casey Mittelstadt F Eden Prairie* Minnesota
1 25 Montreal Canadiens Ryan Poehling F Lakeville North St. Cloud State*
1 26 Dallas Stars Jake Oettinger G Lakeville North Boston University*
2 43 Winnipeg Jets Dylan Samberg D Hermantown* Minnesota Duluth
2 61 Nashville Predators Grant Mismash F Shattuck St. Mary's North Dakota
3 93 Pittsburgh Penguins Clayton Phillips D Edina Minnesota
4 102 San Jose Sharks Scott Reedy F Shattuck St. Mary's Minnesota
4 103 Los Angeles Kings Michael Anderson D Hill-Murray Minnesota Duluth
5 137 Philadelphia Flyers Noah Cates F Stillwater* Minnesota Duluth
6 169 Tampa Bay Lightning Nick Perbix D Elk River* St. Cloud State
6 182 Washington Capitals Benton Maass D Elk River* New Hampshire
7 187 Colorado Avalanche Nick Leivermann D Eden Prairie* Notre Dame
7 200 Tampa Bay Lightning Sam Walker F Edina* Minnesota
7 209 Minnesota Wild Nick Swaney F Lakeville South Minnesota Duluth
7 210 Winnipeg Jets Robbie Stucker D St. Thomas Academy* Colorado College
7 214 New Jersey Devils Matt Hellickson D Rogers Notre Dame
7 215 Chicago Blackhawks Josh Ess D Lakeville South* Wisconsin
*2016-17 team

Casey Mittelstadt: Mittelstadt became the highest drafted player directly from a Minnesota high school since Breck's Blake Wheeler was drafted fifth overall in 2005. The Eden Prairie forward closed out the season with Green Bay in the USHL after winning the Mr. Hockey award and will play for the University of Minnesota next season. 

Ryan Poehling: Poehling accelerated his studies to play for St. Cloud State a year after his junior year at Lakeville North. As a young freshman for the Huskies, the forward scored 13 points in 35 games this year. 

Jake Oettinger: Oettinger broke on to the Minnesota high school scene as a freshman at Lakeville North in the 2013-14 season before moving to the U.S. National Team Development Program (USNTDP) a year later. As a freshman at Boston University this year, Oettinger posted a 2.11 goal-against average and a .927 save percentage as the main goalie for the Terriers. 

Dylan Samberg: Samberg scored the game-winning goal in double overtime of the Class 1A state championship as Hermantown topped Monticello/Annandale/Maple Lake 4-3. The 6-3 blue-liner scored 34 points in 31 games for the Hawks and is committed to Minnesota-Duluth. 

Grant Mismash: Mismash played his youth hockey for Edina before attending Shattuck-St. Mary's and eventually the USNTDP. He will suit up for North Dakota starting next season. 

Clayton Phillips: Phillips made the move to Fargo in the USHL this year after playing his freshman and sophomore years at Edina. Phillips will compete one more season for Fargo before playing for Don Lucia and the Gophers in the 2018-19 season. 

Scott Reedy: Reedy, a Prior Lake native, took a path similar to Mismash, playing two years with Shattuck St. Mary's before suiting up for the USNTDP for the next two years. He will join Mittelstadt in Dinkytown next season. 

Michael Anderson: Anderson spent two years with Hill-Murray before departing for Waterloo in the USHL. He will eventually join his brother Joey, a third-round pick by New Jersey, at Minnesota-Duluth. 

Noah Cates: Cates, another Bulldogs commit, finished with 70 points in his senior season with Stillwater and was a Mr. Hockey finalist. Cates is expected to play in the USHL next year before heading to Duluth for the 2018-19 season. 

Nick Perbix: Perbix was the first of two Elk River defensemen drafted in the sixth round on Saturday. The St. Cloud State commit posted 47 points from the back end and was a Mr. Hockey finalist. 

Benton Maass: Thirteen picks after his high school teammate Perbix was selected, Maass was taken by Washington. Maass put up 33 points as a senior and is committed to New Hampshire. 

Nick Leivermann: Leivermann was an integral part of Eden Prairie's state tournament run this season before closing out the season in the USHL with Bloomington. He will join Penticton in the BCHL next season before suiting up for Notre Dame in 2018-19. 

Sam Walker: Edina's leading scorer as a junior with 52 points, Walker is committed to Minnesota. Walker closed out the season with Lincoln in the USHL and will have to decide between returning to the Stars or playing his senior season with the Hornets. 

Nick Swaney: Swaney, who left Lakeville South after his junior season two years ago to play with Waterloo in the USHL, will head to Minnesota-Duluth next season. He was drafted as an overage player by the Wild with the 209th pick in the draft. 

Robbie Stucker: Stucker finished with 51 points for St. Thomas Academy as the Cadets finished their season with a state consolation championship. The 6-3 defensemen is committed to Colorado College. 

Matthew Hellickson: Since leaving Rogers High School after the 2013-14 season, Hellickson has bounced around, playing two seasons with the USNTDP then moving to the USHL this season. Hellickson will play for Notre Dame next season. 

Josh Ess: Ess, the Lakeville South senior captain, was the final player from Minnesota drafted on Saturday. Ess is committed to Wisconsin and ended last season with Cedar Rapids in the USHL. 

Most Popular