skip navigation

The Metro's best of the best

By David La Vaque, Star Tribune, 03/08/11, 3:30AM CST


Star Tribune names All-Metro teams

This years First-Team All-Metro is, from the left, Tony Cameranesi of Wayzata, Nick Seeler of Eden Prairie, Metro Player of the Year Kyle Rau of Eden Prairie, Max Everson of Edina, Mike Dockry of Burnsville, and goalie Ryan Coyne of Maple Grove. David Bre

Tony Cameranesi

<a href="http://www.mnhockeyhub.com/roster_player/show/344795?subseason=27330" title="Tony Cameranesi">Tony Cameranesi</a>

Wayzata | Forward | Senior

A swift-skating, play-making forward who provided energy on every shift. Centered the Trojans’ dangerous top line and finished with 17 goals and 45 assists. Tremendous speed enabled him to make contributions everywhere on the ice. Committed to Minnesota Duluth.

Nick Seeler

<a href="http://www.mnhockeyhub.com/roster_player/show/358490?subseason=42056" title="Nick Seeler">Nick Seeler</a>

Eden Prairie | Defenseman | Senior

Heads into the state tournament with 30 assists, but his greatest assets are his defensive presence and nasty demeanor. As one Lake Conference coach said, “He finishes every check — and he’ll usually give you a shot.” Headed to Nebraska Omaha.

Kyle Rau

<a href="http://www.mnhockeyhub.com/roster_player/show/358483?subseason=42056" title="Kyle Rau">Kyle Rau</a>

Eden Prairie | Forward | Senior

Selected as the Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year. Two-time member of the all-metro first team. Gophers recruit posted 36 goals and 38 assists to lead the Eagles to state. His aggressive style of play overshadows his size (5-9, 160). And he goes to another level in big games, tallying two game-winning goals in overtime — including the Section 6 championship game.

Max Everson

<a href="http://www.mnhockeyhub.com/roster_player/show/350570?subseason=42056" title="Max Everson">Max Everson</a>

Edina | Defensman | Senior

Rugged, consistent player who takes care of the Hornets' defensive zone and always makes the right pass to start the offense. His coach, former North Stars defenseman Curt Giles, said, “If you need one goal or you need to keep one out, Max is the guy.” Committed to Harvard.

Mike Dockry

<a href="http://www.mnhockeyhub.com/roster_player/show/343313?subseason=27330" title="Mike Dockry">Mike Dockry</a>

Burnsville | Forward | Senior

His quiet demeanor belies a knack for playing well around the net and scoring key goals in big games. Finished with 30 goals and 39 assists and factored into both Blaze goals in its section championship game loss. Hard-working player who keeps his feet moving. Undecided on college choice.

Ryan Coyne

<a href="http://www.mnhockeyhub.com/roster_player/show/348132?subseason=27330" title="Ryan Coyne">Ryan Coyne</a>

Maple Grove | Goaltender | Senior

Anchored the Crimson throughout one of the best seasons in program history. Coyne earned 20 of Maple Grove’s 22 victories, using good size (6-0, 190) and positioning to take away openings. Finished with a 1.72 goals-against average and a .923 save percentage. Undecided on college choice.

Star Tribune player of the year
Eden prairie's Kyle Rau is the STar Tribune's player of the year. Read about him Here.

Second Team


Tyler Heinonen, Delano, senior: Led the state with 83 points in the regular season.

Justin Kloos, Lakeville South, junior: A dynamic player who finished with 90 points, including playoffs.

A.J. Michaelson, Apple Valley, junior: Great balance and poise made him effective with the puck. Gophers recruit.


Patrick Daly, Benilde-St. Margaret’s, senior: Wisconsin-bound Daly impressed with his smooth style.

Dan Molenaar, Eden Prairie, senior: A complete defenseman who battled through injuries.


Bodhi Engum, Burnsville, senior: Backstopped Blaze to title in tough South Suburban Conference.

Third Team

• Ben Bahe, Hill-Murray
• Tim Bonner, Osseo, senior
• Jonny Brodzinski, Blaine, senior
• Steven Fogarty, Edina, senior
• Joseph LaBate, Holy Angels, senior
• Mario Lucia, Wayzata, junior
• Brandon Wahlin, White Bear Lake, senior


• Eddie Wittchow, Burnsville, senior
• D.J. Jones, Wayzata, senior

• Charlie Lindgren, Lakeville North, junior
• Nick Malvin, Blaine, junior