skip navigation

16s and 17s finalists listed

By staff reports, 04/19/11, 9:13AM CDT


B-SM, Duluth East, Hill-Murray each send three players to national camp

Duluth East's Connor Valesano. Photo by Tim Kolehmainen

Benilde-St. Margaret's, Duluth East and Hill-Murray each have three players who will attend the USA Hockey National Player Development camps this summer in Rochester, N.Y., the most of any state high school league programs.

Forward Daniel Labosky of Benilde-St. Margaret's, forward Connor Valesano and goaltender Dylan Parker of Duluth East and defenseman Blake Heinrich and forward Luke Voltin of Hill-Murray are among the 19 players who will participate in the Select 16 camp June 24-30.

Forward Grant Besse and defenseman Jake Horton of Benilde-St. Margaret's, forward Jake Gunetzel of Hill-Murray and defenseman Meirs Moore of Duluth East are among the 14 players who will participate in the Select 17 camp July 7-13.

The number of Minnesota players advancing to the national camp in each age group is determined by USA Hockey.

Minnesota players were selected after two consecutive weekends of tournaments in Plymouth. After a series of tryouts, players were divided into eight teams based on Minnesota State High School League playoff sections.

The top 54 players from each of the two age groups were then selected to compete in a two-day round-robin event that concluded on April 25.

All selected players will receive information about the national camps from USA Hockey by e-mail.

Questions about the Select 17 selections can be addressed to Rick Lowe at 320-333-5696 or rickl@minnesotahockey.org.

Select 16 questions can be addressed to Mark Palmer at 612-325-8068 or markp@minnesotahockey.org.

Minnesota Advanced 16s

Name Position School
Hunter Miksa G North Branch
Dylan Parker G Duluth East
Gage Ausmus D East Grand Forks
Michael Brodzinski D Blaine
Jordan Gross D Maple Grove
Blake Heinrich D Hill-Murray
Teemu Kivihalme D Burnsville
Jim Schuldt D Minnetonka
Thomas Hajicek F East Grand Forks
Zach Hartley F Holy Angels
Aaron Herdt F Moorhead
Karson Kuhlman F Cloquet
Daniel Labosky F Benilde-St. Margaret's
Vinni Lettieri F Minnetonka
Avery Peterson F Grand Rapids
Tyler Sheehy F Burnsville
Connor Thie F Hopkins
Connor Valesano F Duluth East
Luke Voltin F Hill-Murray

Minnesota Advanced 17s

Name Position School
Blake Cates G Stillwater
Phil Boje D Mounds View
Lance Carney D White Bear Lake
Jake Horton D Benilde-St. Margaret's
Zach MacQueen D Shattuck-St. Mary's
Meirs Moore D Duluth East
Grant Besse F Benilde-St. Margaret's
Andrew Commers F St. Thomas Academy
Jake Guentzel F Hill-Murray
Will Merchant F Eagan
A.J. Michaelson F Apple Valley
Louie Nanne F Edina
Zach Stepan F Shattuck-St. Mary's
Tyler Vesel F Shattuck-St. Mary's

Related Stories

Recent Stories

Edina's Ben Brinkman skates the puck out of his zone. Photo by Mark Hvidsten, SportsEngine