skip navigation

2018 Mr. Hockey and Frank Brimsek award finalists announced

By Kassondra Burtis, SportsEngine, 02/16/18, 12:45PM CST


The winners will be named at a banquet following the state tournament.

The 10 finalists for 2018 Mr. Hockey Award, along with the two finalists for the Frank Brimsek Award, were announced today.

The Mr. Hockey Award is given annually to Minnesota's most outstanding senior, and the winner is selected by a group of National Hockey League scouts, junior scouts and coaches, and media members from the state.

The Frank Brimsek Award goes to the state's top senior goaltender.

Both awards are presented by the Minnesota Minute Men, and the winners will be named at the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet on Sunday, March 11 in the St. Paul RiverCentre Grand Ballroom, located at 175 Kellogg Blvd. 

The public is welcome to attend and individual tickets are $40. For more information and to purchase tickets, visit www.minnesotaminutemen.com.

Three additional honors will be handed out at the banquet: the John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year; the Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the "Old Timer Coach" of the year; and the inaugural Mr. Hockey Ambassador Award, bestowed upon an influential person dedicated to hockey's development in Minnesota. Lou Nanne is the recipient of this year's Mr. Hockey Ambassador Award.

Mr. Hockey Award finalists

*Click player's name to view his season stats. Stats, records and rankings as of Feb. 15.

Frank Brimsek Award finalists

Hockey Hub Headlines

Feed for https://www.startribune.com/sports/index.rss2