skip navigation

CCM HP Boys 17s: Day 2 Recap

By Trevor Squire, Special to Minnesota Hockey, 04/14/18, 9:30PM CDT


Section 5 Sky Blue - 6, Section 4 Royal Blue - 5 (OT) 

 Tyler Hill (Osseo) scored a breakaway goal two minutes into overtime off a feed from Cameron Shoberg (Blaine) to clinch Team Sky Blue a comeback victory and a berth into Sunday's title game. Section 5 trailed for 20 minutes in the second half before Spencer Dahlquist (Maple Grove) buried a shot from the point to tie the game with 54 seconds left in regulation.  Both teams wasted little time finding the net in the first half. Trevor Kukkonen (Maple Grove) tallied a hat trick in the opening 10 minutes for Team Sky Blue. Andrew Eichten (Stillwater) and Blake Meister (White Bear Lake) scored late in the first half to level the score after 24 minutes. 

Section 6 Gray - 6, Section 7 Gold - 5 (OT)

Team Gray scored four unanswered goals to overcome a three-goal deficit in overtime and advance to the championship game on Sunday. Nate Warner (St. Cloud Cathedral) netted the overtime game-winner 52 seconds into the extra session. Matthew Gleason (Cretin Derham Hall) found Warner on a long pass through the neutral zone, giving his teammate a breakaway to the net.  Joel Matthews (Wayzata) scored twice in the final minute to force overtime. Dakota Oman (Duluth Marshall) helped Team Gold take the lead, tallying two assists on goals by Kobie Koenig (Grand Rapids) and Eric Chartier (Andover) in the first half. He also netted the opening goal of the second half to give Team Gold a 5-2 lead. Benjamin Fritsinger (Andover) withstood a firing squad in the second half, stopping 23 shots.

Section 2 Orange - 5, Section 3 Kelly Green - 4

Minnetonka sophomores Teddy Lagerback and James Miller clinched Team Orange a victory after scoring consecutively late in the final half. Miller's game-winner rang two pipes and ricocheted in. Andrew Kittelson (Holy Family) and  John Mittelstadt (Eden Prairie) scored to open the game and give Team Orange an early two-goal lead.  Logan Kittleson (Burnsville) and Marco Troje (East Ridge) rallied Team Kelly Green with goals late in the opening half to tie the game at the intermission. Michael Spinner (Eden Prairie) rocketed a shot from the halfboard to regain the lead for Team Orange, but Brandt Pedersen (Litchfield) and Troje found the net to give Team Kelly Green a brief lead. Ben Bullis (Eden Prairie) stood strong in the waning minutes of the second half and stopped 22 of 24 shots in the Team Orange net.

Section 8 White - 5, Section 1 Red - 1

Team White scored four straight goals to open the game and run away with a victory over Team Red.  Jacob Braccini (Buffalo) and Luc Laylin (St. Michael-Albertville) scored two goals each, and Braccini assisted Owen Meeker's (Warroad) empty-net goal in the second half. Quinn Rudrud scored Team Red's lone goal off a feed from Zachary Willis (Farmington). Team Red goalie William Johnson (Lakeville North) stopped all 13 shots he faced in the second half, while Hudson Hodges (Moorhead) made 13 saves in the first half for Team White.

Hockey Hub Headlines

Feed for https://www.startribune.com/sports/index.rss2