skip navigation

CCM HP Boys 16s: Day 2 Recap

By Kory Bonnell, Special to Minnesota Hockey, 04/15/18, 11:30AM CDT


Section 3A/AA, Kelly Green- 3 vs. Section 2 A/AA, Orange-4

Day 2 got underway this afternoon with a back and forth head to head game; both teams finishing the first half with two points.  Kelly Green's Bjorn Kilen (STA) kicked things off for Section 3, knotching the first goal of the game.  Dylan Zitzloff (Minnetonka) would answer back quickly, tying the game at 1. Orange would go on top halfway through the first with a goal by Providence Academy's Grant Ellings.  Closing out the first half would be Green's Jonston Meiers (Eagan) with a short handed goal, leaving the teams at 2-2.  The second half was much of the same with Matt Beaty (Prior Lake) putting section 2 up by 1 in the first four minutes of the half.  Jackson Hallum (STA) would answer back with a goal only minutes later.  Ultimately, Section 2 was able to seal the win with a last minute goal from Prior Lake's Preston Lindholm, leaving the final score, 4-3.

Section 8A/AA, White- 2 vs. Section 1 A/AA, Red -4

In another even keel game, Section 8 A/AA took on Section 1 A/AA to see who would play for the Consolation prize.  Section 1 would be the only team to score in the first with goals from Will Taeger (Shattuck) and Lakeville North's Sam Enebak.  Coming into the second, it would be Moorhead's Luke Gramer, with his first of two goals, that would close the gap to 1. Red's Zach Oelrich (Lakeville South) answered back less than 2 minutes later, putting Section 1 up by 2.  Gramer would eventually find the back of the net, again, for his second goal, but it wasn't enough for the win. Section 1 went on to win by a score of 4-2 with the last goal scored by Shattuck's Matthew Mesenburg.  

Section 5A/AA, Sky Blue - 4  vs. Section 4 A/AA, Royal Blue - 3

Our first overtime game of the Festival would be a matchup between Section 5 A/AA and Section 4 A/AA fighting for a spot in tomorrow's Championship game! After a scoreless first half, both teams came out hungry for the win.  Sky Blue would be the first to score, with back to back goals from teammates Kyle Kukkonen (Osseo-Maple Grove) and Jack Southard (Princeton).  The lead was short-lived; Section 4's Samuel Newpower (WBL) and Louis Johnson (Roseville) quickly tallied two goals to tie the game halfway through the second. With a last minute goal at 1:38, it was thought that Thomas Carls (Coon Rapids) had secured the win for Section 5.  It was a penalty shot, with 20 seconds remaining, by Stillwater's Nicholas Dario that would send the game into OT.  Ultimately, scoring the only goal of the shootout, Carls, got another opportunity to close the game with a victory for Section 5 A/AA. What a game!

Section 6A/AA, Gray- 1 vs. Section 7 A/AA, Gold -3

The puck dropped between Section 6 A/AA and Section 7 A/AA to see who would be joining Section 5 in the title game tomorrow afternoon.  Ultimately, the game saw Section 7 dominating the scoreboard with the first 3 goals; Harrison Vandermey (Andover), Wyatt Miskovich(Grand Rapids) and Christian Galatz (Cloquet) all put up tallies to extend Gold's lead over Gray, 3-0.  Section 6's Tristan Broz (Blake) scored the final game of the night, putting Gray on the board.  In the end, Section 7 secured the win, 3-1, to find themselves in Sunday's championship match-up.

Hockey Hub Headlines

Feed for https://www.startribune.com/sports/index.rss2