skip navigation

News Archive

Young Guns NIT - MN and Shattuck gain wins on Friday

Shattuck came from behind and defeated Michigan 4 - 3 in the first game of the Young Guns NIT. In the 3rd period Shattuck tied the score at 3 early in the period. With 1:37 remaining Sebastian Weberg scored the winning goal. In the 2nd game of the day Minnesota defeated Massachusetts 7 - 5. For Minnesota, Mason Bergh and Mario Bianchi both scored twice and had one assist while Jono Lindquist contributed 1 goal and 3 assists. Goalie Chris Amsden stopped all 17 shots he faced while playing the first half of the game.

MNEPDL Announces Young Guns NIT Team

The following players have been selected to participate in the Young Guns Tournament this weekend at New Hope.

Ryan Karrow - Metro SE
Chandler Lindstrand - West
 Patrick Graham - Metro SW
David Horsmann - North
Tom Vannelli - Metro NW
Mitch Reineke - Metro NE

John Wiitala - Metro SE
Ian Penvose - Metro SE
Mason Bergh - West
Mitchell Fritz - West
Bo Braurer - Metro SW
Mario Bianchi - Metro SW
Jake Jackson - Metro NE
Hans Garowsky - Metro NE
Andrew Scofield - South
Jack Ramsey - Metro NW
Paul Bittner - North
Jeremy Lopez - North
Jono Lindquist - Metro SW

Chris Amsden - South
Chase Perry - Metro NW

Jeff Humble Rob Page

Tournament Schedule is:

11/4/11 Friday  2:45PM  New Hope North    Michigan vs Shattuck
                            3:15PM  New:Hope  South  Massachusetts vs Minnesota
11/5/11 Saturday  4:15PM  New Hope North  Minnesota vs Michigan
                                 4:45PM  New Hope South  Shattuck vs Massachusetts
11/6/11 Sunday     2:30PM  New Hope North   Minnesota vs Shattuck
                                 2:00PM  New Hope South   Massachusetts vs Michigan

Players should arrive at New Hope Arena by 2:15PM Friday to receive jerseys. Black breezer covers will be available for players to wear during the tournament.

MNEPDL Season Passes are not valid for this event.




Young Guns NIT - MN & Shattuck win 2nd games

Minnesota MNEPDL and Shattuck won their games and will meet for the title Sunday afternoon. MNEPDL defeated Michigan 5 - 0 as Hans Gorowsky scored 2 and also had an assist while Jono Lindquist added a goal and 3 assists and Mario Bianchi had an assist on the first 4 goals. Goalies Chase Perry and Chris Amsden combined to make 31 saves. Shattuck scored 3 in the third period to pull away to a 6 - 3 win over Massachusetts.

Metro SE Defends MNEPDL Title

Metro SE completed it's quest for  back to back titles in the MNEPDL with a 3 - 2 victory over Team Wisconsin. Henry Hart scored with game winner with 2 1/2 minutes remaining in the 3rd period. Assisting on the goal were Cullen Willox and Ryan Karrow. Also scoring for Metro SE were Zach Glienke, assisted by Henry Hart and Austin Sattler assisted by Tom Muck and Will Peterson.  The Metro SE team was coached by Andy Vix, Ryan Gill and Ryan Helgason. In the 3rd Place game Metro NW defeated Metro SW. In the Consolation bracket Metro NE defeated West in a shoot out.

Elite D 16-U Team Plays in NAHL Future Prospects Showcase

The MN Elite Prep Development League assembled a 16 – U team to play in the North American Hockey League’s Future Prospects Event held in conjunction with the NAHL Showcase at the Schwan’s Super Rink Sept 15 – 18 and finished the weekend with a record of 4 – 1.  The team was comprised of players from all seven of the league’s Minnesota teams and also played a pre-tournament game against the Fairbanks 16-U team which it also won. Using speed and playing as a team in each game the team defeated Indiana Jr Ice, Orange County, Pittsburgh Vipers and Pursuit of Excellence. It’s only defeat was at the hands of Omaha Nebraska which broke out to a 4 – 0 lead and then held on in the 2nd half of the game as the MN squad took control but only managed to close the gap to 4 – 2 before running out of time.  Players selected to play in the event were
Defense  Name  Elite D Team
 Teemu Kivalhalme  Met SE
 Andrew Glad  Met SE
 Alex Copa  Met NW
 Logan Sharp  Met NE
 Travis Brown  Met NW
 Chandler Lindstrand  West
 Matt Koch  Met SE
 Mitch Reinke  Met NE
 Zack Hale  Met SE
 Jack Murphy  Met SW
 Andy Jordahl  Met SW
 Matt Perry  Met NE
 Willie Brown  Met NE
 William Hammer  West
 Luke Lijewski  South
 Colton Schmidt  South
 Jack Ramsey  Met NW
 Paul Bittner  North
 Dixon Bowen  North
 Jono Lindquist  Met SW
 Bo Brauer  Met SW
Chase Perry  Met NW
Jake Gerdes  Met SW

Jono Lindquist (Jefferson) led the team with 5 goals, 3 assists followed by Paul Bittner (Crookston) and Andy Jordahl (Edina) with 5 points and Chandler Lindstrand (Wayzata) and Jack Ramsey (Minnetonka) with 4 points. The entire defensive corp played very well and along with Goalies Jake Gerdes and Chase Perry kept the opposition off the scoreboard as the team only surrendered 9 goals in the 5 games. Jake Gerdes finished the event with a save % of 95.9%. The team was coached by Craig Shepherd. General Manager was Charlie Graves