skip navigation

Minnesota Elite Prep Development League

Fall 2017 Player Nominations and League information.

Information has been sent to High school coaches requesting player nominations for the 2017 fall league. The league will also receive information for players participating in the High Performance 15, 16 and 17 programs. Players can also be nominated by sending an email to elite2hockey@gmail.com with the following information: Player name, mailing address, phone number, school and grade next fall, position, birth date, parent email address, 2016 team coaches name and email address.. Eligible players are sophomores & juniors (as of fall 2017)  with 2001 or 2000 birth dates. Players with a 2002 birth date can also be considered if they meet established criteria. For fall 2017 the league will consist of five Tier 1 16 teams and four 18U teams. The Tier 1 16 teams will compete for the opportunity to participate in the MN District Playoffs with Shattuck St Mary's to determine the MN representative in the USA Hockey National Tournament. In addition to playing approximately 20 games during the season teams will also have weekly practices. Tryout information will be sent to players during May & June. Tryouts will be held August 3 - 6 and the schedule will be posted as soon as it is finalized. After tryouts a league training weekend will be held. The weekend of Aug 26 - 27 will be the first league game weekend. No league activity will occur during Labor Day Weekend. Additional schedule information will be posted as plans become finalized.

If you have any questions please send an email to elite2hockey@gmail.com.


Metro Southeast captures Tier 1 16U Playoff Championship

The Metro Southeast team claimed the Championship title with victories over the Central, 
Metro Southwest and Metro Northwest.          
Round 1 of the playoffs on Saturday morning featured the Metro Northwest team claiming a
5 - 4 shoot-out win over Metro Northeast. Austin Carroll of Metro Northeast had a hat trick
in the game while Max Jennrich had a goal and 2 assists and Henry Jaunich also had 2 assists.
For the Northwest Connor Bizal had 2 goals and Will Francis had 2 assists and scored the winning
goal during the shoot-out.  In the 2nd game Metro Southeast defeated Central by a score of 6 - 3. 
Balanced scoring was the key in this game as 5 different players recorded goals led by 2 goals by
Jack Mason and 7 players picked up assists.  Ben Beattie had 21 saves for the win.   
In the Saturday evening Semi-final games Metro Southeast defeated Metro Southwest by a 
score of 6 - 2. Ben Beattlie was solid in goal stopping 31 of 33 shots for the win. Balanced
scoring again was a key factor as 6 different players recorded goals. Tyler Grimm led the
way offensively with a goal and 2 assists.  In the other Semi-final Metro Northwest defeated
the West by the score of 7 - 4. Jack Menne recorded two goals and an assist and Mike Crosbie
had 2 goals and Luc Monney had two assists for the Northwest.     
In the Third Place game Sunday morning Metro Southwest defeated West 4 - 3 in a shoot-out.
Liam Malmquist recorded a hat trick with one goal in each period for Metro Southwest while Max Borst
contributed two assists. Jacob Lillijord scored the winner in the shoot-out. For the West Tyler Sweeney
had two goals and Jack Haley two assists.         
In the Championship game it was fast paced and high scoring as the Metro Southeast Fighting Camels 
defeated Metro Northwest 7 - 6. The Fighting Camels held leads of 2 - 1 after the first and 5 - 3 after two t
but in the third Metro Northwest tied it at 5 with 9:29 left on the clock. Metro Southeast moved ahead 
about 2 minutes later only to see Northwest tie it up again with 3 minute left. Tyler Linnerooth
tallied his second goal of the game with 1 second left on the clock for the win. Ben Beattie again
was solid in goal making several key stops along the way to finish with 26 saves.   

MNEPDL Sponsors

League email

Charlie Graves
Director, MN Elite Prep Development League